2017 History Undergraduate Writing Prize

April 26, 2017


The History Faculty is soliciting nominations for the 2017 History Undergraduate Writing Prizes, honoring excellence in historical research and writing.  The three awards of $300 each honor MIT historians John W. Dower, Pauline Maier, and Bruce Mazlish.

Eligibility:  MIT and non-MIT undergraduate students who have taken a 21H subject in 2016-17, taught by an MIT History Faculty, member may submit entries.


  • Paper must be a minimum of 10 pages, double spaced
  • Paper must have been written for a 21H subject, taught by an MIT History Faculty member, in 2016-17
  • ​Papers written for non-21H subjects are ineligible, unless the instructor has a joint appointment with the MIT History Faculty
  • Papers should include the title only. Leave out your name, subject number, and subject title, as they will be anonymously evaluated by the prize committee.

How to apply:  Send completed entry form and paper as a PDF file to mjpepin@mit.edu by 5:00pm, Monday, May 22, 2017.  No late entries accepted.

Winners will be notified by e-mail, and their names will appear on the History website by Monday, June 5.