April 13, 2015

"Memory Matters: Gender and Politics of Knowledge Production on the Armenian Genocide"

Hourig Attarian, Concordia University
Threading a Map, Spinning Life Stories: Tracing Fractured Memories in the Archives

Melissa Bilal, Columbia University
Lulluby the

April 10, 2015

“The Task of Historians in the Age of the Anthropocene”

Julia Adeney Thomas, Notre Dame University
Friday, April 10, 2015
2:30-4:30, E51-095

As Reinhart Koselleck and others have argued, critical history is imbued with “anticipatory content.”  The task of historians has

April 1, 2015

"The Afterlife of the Chemists' War: Gas Masks and Civilian Bodies in Imperial Britain and France, c.1915-45"

Susan R. Grayzel, University of Mississippi
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
4-5:30 pm, E51-275

This paper is part of a larger project analyzing how one material object

April 1, 2015

“True Rhetoric and Philosophy in Plato’s ‘Phaedrus’”
Mary-Louise Gill
Professor of Classics and Philosophy
Brown University
Wednesday, April 1, 2015, 5:15pm in 14E-304

March 6, 2015

"The Mystery of the Missing Watt: Electricity in the Making of  Modern Tokyo"

Ian Miller, Harvard University
Friday, March 6, 2015
2:30 - 4:30 pm in E51-095

There is no way that Fujimura Seijirō could have predicted what would happen when he rewired the lighting on the

February 27, 2015


"Land and Labor in Nineteenth Century Tamilnad"
Prasannan Parthasarathi, Boston College
Friday, February 27, 2015
E51-275, 2:30 - 4:30 pm

In the nineteenth century the

September 30, 2014

The Double Ninth Festival, which falls on October 2 this year, is one of the most important holidays in traditional Chinese culture. The Tang Dynasty poet Wang Wei wrote a famous poem commemorating the holiday, which begins with these lines:


Alone, I am

September 5, 2014

IAP in Ancient Greece January 2015

Building on the success of eight prior seasons of the IAP in Ancient and Medieval Italy program, this new venture of the MIT History Faculty and MT Concourse offer to between 10 and 15 MIT undergraduate a first-hand experience of Greek art and archeology

August 6, 2014

Chris Capozzola, "The Historian's Lab" in MIT Spectrum, July 21, 2014

May 28, 2014

This exhibition has been redesigned and expanded and is now open at the Museum of the City of New York.


“Palaces for the People: Guastavino and America’s Great Public Spaces” has recently opened at the