DEADLINE EXTENDED for the 2020 History Undergraduate Writing Prize

May 18, 2020

The History Faculty is soliciting nominations for the 2020 History Undergraduate Writing Prize, honoring excellence in historical research and writing.  There are three awards of $300 that honor MIT historians John W. Dower, Pauline Maier, and Bruce Mazlish. 


Eligibility: MIT and non-MIT undergraduate students who have taken a 21H subject in 2019-20, taught by an MIT History Faculty member may submit entries.  Non-21H subjects are ineligible, unless the instructor has a joint appointment with the MIT History Faculty


Entry Requirements:

  • Paper should be roughly 10 pages, double spaced
  • Video and audio recordings should be roughly 15-20 minutes or more in length.  
  • Other formats should reflect an equivalent investment of effort; the committee will apply these criteria flexibly in the interests of including the largest possible number and variety of submissions.
  • Papers should include the title only.  Leave out your name, subject number, subject title, and image (if submitting a visual project) as they will be anonymously evaluated by the prize committee.

Entry Deadline: Monday, May 25, 2020, 11:59pm, EST.  No late entries accepted.  Submit project/paper and entry form as a PDF to Meghan Pepin,  If you have any questions, please send e-mail.

Winners will be notified by email and their names will appear on the history website by Monday, June 15.