June 10, 2019

The History Faculty is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 History Undergraduate Writing Prizes, honoring excellence in historical research and writing.  The three awards of $300 each honor MIT historians John W. Dower, Pauline Maier, and Bruce Mazlish.  This year's reciepients are:

March 7, 2019

Spotlight on Lerna Ekmekçioğlu,

MIT News : Learning to study a painful past

Lerna Ekmekçioğlu studies pioneering Armenian women of the 19th and 20th centuries — and helps other scholars enter her field. Read more

February 14, 2019

Kenda Mutongi Named Finalist for Elliott P. Skinner Award

Kenda Mutongi, Member (2004–05) in the School of Social Science, has been named a finalist for the 2018 Elliott P. Skinner Book Award, for 

December 6, 2018

When Japan met the world : Inspired by a family background with extensive U.S-Japan ties, historian Hiromu Nagahara explores Japan’s

December 6, 2018

Spring 2019 History Special Topics Course Offerings:

21H.S01 - South Africa and Apartheid

21H.S02 -

November 14, 2018

This semester, students in 21H.009, "World History and Its Fault Lines Since 1800," are exploring multiple perspectives on imperialism and nationalism with a group of students at Keio University in Tokyo, Japan, through real-time video conferences and online collaborations. Their tasks include

October 16, 2018

Kenda Mutongi, Professor of African History at Williams College and Visiting Professor of History at MIT, has been selected as the winner of the 2018 Martin A. Klein Prize for the book Matatu: A History of Popular Transportation in

May 2, 2018

The History Faculty is soliciting nominations for the 2018 History Undergraduate Writing Prize, honoring excellence in historical research and writing.  There are three awards of $300 that honor MIT historians John W. Dower, Pauline Maier, and Bruce Mazlish.

April 19, 2018

The XVIII World Economic History Congress is taking place on the campus of Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the Cambridge Marriott, Kendall Square from July 29-August 3, 2018. Professor Anne McCants, History, MIT, is the Chair of the Organizing Committee for this major conference.