2020 History Undergraduate Writing Prize Winners

Extreme close-up of letters on a typewriter

The History Faculty is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 History Undergraduate Writing Prizes, honoring excellence in historical research and writing. The three awards, of $300 each, honor MIT historians John W. Dower, Pauline Maier, and Bruce Mazlish.

This year’s recipients are:

Megan McCandless ‘20
Title: Russian Officers Against Military Reforms
Class: 21H.245 – Soviet and Post-Soviet Politics and Society: 1917 to the Present

Charlotte Minsky ‘20
Title: Noble Hills: Settler Colonialism and the Making of the Lick Observatory, 1846-1919
Course: 21H.THU – History Thesis

Elizabeth Tso ‘21
Title: Roman Relationships: Rhetoric and Reputation
Class: 21H.391- Undergraduate Independent Study